top of page
Sarah Thomas.jpg

2023 Writer's Block Prize Short Story Contest Winner Announced

Louisville Literary Arts
Charliese Brown Lewis, Executive Director
Louisville Literary Arts Announces Winner
of Short Story Contest

April 24, 2023 (LOUISVILLE, KY) – Louisville Literary Arts (LLA) is excited to announce the first-place winner of its Writer’s Block Short Story Contest. The contest was sponsored by LLA and Hydra Publications.

The first-place winner and the next top 19 entries will appear in an anthology to be published by Hydra Publications in June of 2023. The book will be available online via LLA social media, the Hydra website and Amazon.

Sarah Thomas (pictured) received the first-place prize of $300 for her short story, Liftoff. The writer, editor and educator lives in Geneva, Switzerland and Key West, Florida and has had her work published in Catapult, Al Jazeera America, xojane, The Huffington Post, Apogee Journal, Bayou Magazine and Key West Weekly. She is currently finishing a novel.
As the first-place winner, Sarah is invited to read at LLA’s upcoming Writer’s Block Festival. To learn more about Sarah, her website is

CS Ackerson
Louisville, KY

Crystal Adams
Distant Relative
McKinney, TX

John Beecham
The Wind Riders
Louisville, KY

Natalie Bickel
Flower Beds
Floyds Knobs, IN

Cynthia Cain
The Causeway
Mackville, KY

Steve Cambron
The Lobster According to Gerard
Louisville, KY

Nell Campbell
Summer Peaches
Lexington, KY

Terry Chambers
The Escape
Prospect, KY

Carroll Grossman
Crossing the Bridge
Louisville, KY

Jeanne Hammond
Louisville, KY

Chris Helvey
Clowns in the Kudzu
Frankfort, KY

Jessica Hildebrand
Dishing Divorce

Holly Hinson
Ramble On
Louisville, KY

Leah Pugh
The Voice
Louisville, KY

Carmen DaVinleam
3:02 a.m.
Louisville, KY

Rosanna Staffa
Edina, MN

Thomas Ukinski

Whitney Vale
And She Faded Into Me
Louisville, KY

Erin Wedemeyer

Louisville, KY


Past Writer's Block Prize Winners

2019 Writer's Block Prize Short Story Contest
Aimee Lehmann,
"The Things We Leave Behind"

2018 Writer's Block Prize in Poetry

Carolyn Oliver, "Nine Minutes in June"
Maggie Smith, judge

2017 Writer's Block Prize in Creative NonFiction
Lina Chern, "Get Over Yourself"
Roy Hoffman, judge

2016 Writer's Block Festival Prize in Poetry
Caylin Capra-Thomas, “I Don’t Know What People Should Do”  

bottom of page