top of page

2014 Writer's Block Poetry Contest

**The Writer's Block Festival/Memorious Poetry Contest**

Judge: Rebecca Morgan Frank, editor-in-chief of Memorious. $500, plus publication in Memorious. $10 submission fee. Manuscripts are being accepted now at through the October 15, 2014 deadline. Send 1 - 3 previously unpublished poems in ONE WORD DOC (no more than 1 poem per page, and no more than 6 pages, collectively).

Email with further questions if you have them.Writer’s Block Festival is sponsored by Louisville Literary Arts, whose mission is to engage readers and writers in order to enrich the literary arts, and also sponsors the InKY Reading Series (monthly, Sept–May). Writer’s Block takes place in Louisville, KY, and is an annual celebration of literature and writing. The festival is free and open to the public (except for craft workshops, which are available for a small fee).

This year’s events occur on November 14th and 15th, and will feature, Nick Flynn, David Baker, Ada Limón, Jacinda Townsend, and many others. Memorious has published such engaging and powerful poets as Jericho Brown, Jake Adam York, Sidney Wade, Jean Valentine, Major Jackson, Bob Hicok, Kara Candito, Timothy Donnelly, Dana Levin, and G.C. Waldrep. Founded in 2004, Memorious biannually publishes new verse and fiction online, and work from it has been selected for publication in Best American Poetry, Best New Poets, Best of the Web, and Best of the Net.

Rebecca Morgan Frank is editor-in-chief of Memorious, and is the author of the poetry collection Little Murders Everywhere (Salmon 2012), one of three finalists for the 2013 Kate Tufts Discovery Award. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in such journals as Ploughshares, New England Review, Harvard Review, The Missouri Review, The Georgia Review, Blackbird, Washington Square, &c. and have been reprinted in Best New Poets 2008, Poetry Daily, and Verse Daily. A new manuscript-in-progress was selected by Marilyn Hacker for the Poetry Society of America’s Alice Fay di Castagnola Award. She has recently been awarded fellowships from the Virginia Center for Creative Arts (VCCA) and Lighthouse Works, as well as a Walter E. Dakin Fellowship from the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. Her poems have been set as art song by composers Eric Malmquist and Brian Baxter, as well as by Aaron Stepp, with whom she recently completed a collaborative work of digital music as joint fellows at VCCA. She is an assistant professor at the Center for Writers, University of Southern Mississippi’s graduate creative writing program.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts